You are here: Home / Additional modules / API Module / Manage API Users

€

API Module

Manage API Users

Create API user

 

In the user list view under Tools >> Settings >> Users , click the New data record icon “New Record” icon in the upper-left corner to create a new user.
In the “Save as:” field, please select “API User.”

Please fill in the field “user name”, otherwise it is not possible to save your data. Please check the user name carefully, as it cannot be changed after it has been created.

Further specifications are not possible when creating. After you have saved, the user is created and opened directly for further editing.

Generate API token and secret

After the API user has been created, the API secret and token are still missing. These are required so that, for example, website developers can access the contact and property data in onOffice enterprise.
Click the Update “Refresh” icon here to generate an API token and secret.

If an API token has already been generated, the old API token is hereby invalidated.

Please write down the new secret immediately, as it will only be displayed once!

API user rights

On the “Rights” tab, you determine which rights the user is granted.

The API user should get the rights necessary for the desired programming / actions.

In general, the user rights apply as elsewhere in onOffice enterprise .

Set “Read property” to “all” (1). We recommend to omit the checkmarks at “Can only see property published on the website” (2) and at “Can only see contacts published on the website” (3).

Our WordPress plugin only displays properties that have been published for the website. How to enable properties for the website is explained in the following section “Enabling properties”.

If you check the box “Can only see property published on the website” (2), then in our plugin some functions like owner forms will not work completely. For example, the plugin can then create properties, but these are not published for by default and thus no longer visible to the plugin. Then the link to the owner can no longer be established. Therefore, we recommend unchecking this box for the plugin.

With the checkmark “Can only see contacts published on the website” (3) you set whether you also have to explicitly share contacts so that they appear on the website. If you wish, you can check the box. Then, in addition, make the further settings described in the section “Releasing contacts” that follows later.

API Module